Not Your Standard Dessert

Over the past few weeks I have decided that I should try making all sorts of different enticing recipes from popcorn cakes to green smoothies to black bean pie. But for now let’s concentrate on the desserts and I will fill you in on all the other stuff later.

First I made popcorn cake. For starters we must all understand that I truly love popcorn, it might be a minor addiction. There is no late night snack more satisfying then a nice warm bowl of stove-popped popcorn. Second the roommates and I recently discovered that we had accumulated roughly 3 bags of marshmallows and were getting pretty sick of rice krispie treats, so this popcorn based dessert seemed to be the answer. However we didn’t want a whole cake so we just made a few popcorn cupcakes and subbed chocolate chips in for the m&ms. These were a delicious study snack but should be eaten shortly after being made; they were stale by the next day.

But wait…popcorn balls aren’t enough. I also tried my hand at sweet popcorn. I added brown sugar and cinnamon to my usual canola oil-popcorn kernel mix. I thought I recalled reading recipes that called for a tablespoon or two of sugar to make kettle corn so I added just a little sugar and a little cinnamon. And I am not gonna lie, the final product was wonderful; however it was not actually sweet like the kettle corn I have had so many times at fairs. So after demolishing my bowl of cinnamon sugar popcorn I looked up some kettle corn recipes and found where I went wrong. The recipes all called for 1/3 cup or more of sugar…not a tablespoon. But that’s alright I still enjoyed it and I didn’t consume an outrageous amount of sugar in the process so I’d say that was a win win situation.

Even after the popcorn cupcakes we still had more marshmallows then we knew what to do with. So I set about making baked smores. I started with crushed graham crackers topped with marshmallows and then chocolate chips and baked at 325 for about 10 or 12 minutes (I think…this was a few weeks ago). I probably should have mixed the graham crackers with the chocolate chips so that the chocolate melted into the graham cracker solving two minor problems: 1) not as much loose graham cracker at the bottom of the muffin paper and 2) not so much chocolate stuck to the sides of the muffin paper. These did not quite compete with real campfire roasted s’mores, but they were s’mores nonetheless.

Finally I made this delicious chocolate chip cookie dough dip. This is currently one of my favorite food blogs, the recipes are delicious and I love all the unexpected ingredients like garbanzo beans. I made this dip for a movie night with the bestie. My friend and I thorougly enjoyed this dip with apples for dipping; my sister on the other hand could not get past the texture (it was a bit grainy). I highly suggest putting it in the freezer or fridge for a while before eating because I found it to be much tastier when it was cold. This recipe gives lots of suggestions and alternative to make the dip more your style. For the nut butter I used almond butter, and I used about 1/2 cup of brown sugar as sweetener. We were not able to eat this all in one night (waaay to much dip) so I put the dip into mini muffin tins the next day and made cookie bites; which were just as tasty.

One response to “Not Your Standard Dessert

  1. Pingback: Apples on Apples « Glue Guns and Glitter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

