The Most Important Meal of the Day

As a continuation of my enticing recipe adventures I am going to focus on my recent breakfast adventures. (I must apologize ahead of time my camera broke and my phone does not take real high quality photos)

We have all heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and if you ask anyone who knows me you will find out that I am a huge breakfast advocate. I could probably count the number of times I have skipped breakfast, without using my toes, and I was probably sick. My standard breakfast would be oatmeal, cereal or yogurt and granola. But I also have a big place in my heart for pancakes.

Protein Pumpkin Pancakes
During finals week I woke up a bit early so that I could make my roommie a pre-final breakfast. We decided to try protein pumpkin pancakes. Well let me tell you the name is deceiving. Sadly these did not taste like pumpkin. Also I was not able to blend the mixture because the rest of the house was sleeping and waking everyone up at 7am is just not cool. So, the lack of blender usage resulted in an interesting texture from the cottage cheese. However I think with the help of double (or more) of the pumpkin and a blender these would be much more satisfying. I topped my with peanut butter and drizzle of maple syrup for a filling and satisfying finals week breakfast.

Chocolate Chip Raisin Oven Pancakes
On a more successful note I made another wonderful recipe from this blog. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this but it turned out to basically be one GIGANTIC pancake that I got to pop in the oven while I got ready for the day instead of a stack of pancakes that I had to stand by the stove and cook. This picture is only like a third of the entire pancake and as usual I topped it with some peanut butter. :)

Pumpkin Muffin with a Side of Spinach
So technically I think this falls under the breakfast category…but it sure did make a delicious lunch. After making the previously mentioned pumpkin pancakes I had to find a use for the left over pumpkin…hmmm…well a pumpkin muffin sounded delicous so i whipped up one of these little guys, including raisins instead of chocolate chips. And decided that while I was at it, I might as well put all the spinach in the fridge to good use since all my roommates had left for break and we still had a TON of spinach (and not much else). Now this wasn’t my first smoothie with spinach in it but it was the first smoothie that I personally made with spinach in it; I made the iced pineapple one, pretty tasty.

Brownies for Breakfast?
My final breakfast baking adventure should probably not be considered breakfast, but I definitely ate it for breakfast. These brownie pancakes really did taste like brownies…especially the batter. :) Oh the batter was sooo delicious.
Brownies for Breakfast? As always this recipie gives you several options: I used 1 Tbs sugar, Hershey’s cocoa powder and 1 Tbs
oil. Then I topped mine with a little bit of butter, some powdered sugar and a side of strawberries. This was probably my favorite out of all of these breakfast dishes, although a little sweeter then a breakfast probably should be; but hey it was Saturday, so why not.

One response to “The Most Important Meal of the Day

  1. Casey

    What a beautiful presentation of the brownie pancakes! Your nieces would love them! Reminds me of the chocolate Costco muffins Dad always bought growing up. Too sweet for me for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

