Trying New Things

Today’s the day. I have really been wanting to try roasted chickpeas and today I did. My roommates were gone and I was feeling a bit daring so I decided to cook something new. I followed this recipe.

Now I love hummus, I love these chocolate chip blondies. I love this cinnamon roll pie, but I just don’t like plain chickpeas. So making these roasted chickpeas was toss up. Either they would be delicious like the previously mentioned goods, or they might just send chills down my back like that one time I put plain chickpeas on my salad.


End Result: They were crunchy. They had good flavor. I did not like them

Why didn’t I like them? I am a texture person, and the inside of these roasted chickpeas had a hint of that grainy texture of uncooked chickpeas. Now don’t get me wrong, it was a THOUSAND times better then plain chickpeas, but I just couldn’t do it.

Conclusion: These are flavorful, easy to make and I am sure they would be loved by any person who doesn’t mind the chickpea texture…but that person is just not me.

At least they looked pretty.

My second experiment of the night was more successful. I made spinach chips! These were absolutely delicious. Eveyone should go out and make them. Most of them were crispy, and those that weren’t were still tasty. I used this recipe, but made a few adjustments for convenience’s sake.

Here’s what I did:
1. Toss spinach leaves in olive oil
2. Spread spinach on wax paper lined cookie sheet
3. Sprinkle with garlic salt and pepper
4. Bake: I put mine into the oven while my oven was preheating for the chickpeas, so it was set at 400, but was not up to 400 yet. It took about 8 minutes for them to get crunchy.
5. Enjoy

These were truly delicious. As in I probably could have eaten 3 or 4 times as much as I made. So wonderful that I didn’t take any pictures because I couldn’t tear myself away from them. So wonderful that I’ll probably make some more tomorrow.

4 responses to “Trying New Things

  1. Have you ever tried fresh chickpeas? They are pretty amazing, with a totally different texture than the canned ones. If you haven’t ever seen them before, I did a post on them not too long ago: http://attemptsindomesticity.com/2012/05/14/green-chickpeas/

  2. Casey

    Wanna see a picture of the spinach chips!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

