Painted Pumpkins

I have been a pumpkin carver my entire life. No, my pumpkins were never spectacular, but they were fun and my own.

I remember as a kid we would pick out our pumpkins (usually at Target, no big pumpkin patch or anything). But then my dad would lay out a big beach blanket on our living room floor and my sisters and I would set out to make the greatest pumpkins. Usually we enlisted dad to scoop out the bulk of the seeds, as we were never fans of the gooey stuff. And every year we each came up with a fun new face/design and displayed our works of art on the front porch until they molded away. 

Then came college, and my friends and I decided we still needed to carve pumpkins. We would all get together and head out to the pumpkin patch, run through the corn maze and search the lot for out ideal pumpkin. Some looked for the biggest, some the best stem, some the smoothest skin, whatever the characteristic we searched high and low (mostly low) until we found the best pumpkin. And of course like any college adventure we made sure to take a TON of pictures. I think Charlie Brown would be proud.
398264_4179593082292_1424021693_n 10287_10151124510396593_1829290687_n

Well this year I haven’t been to the pumpkin patch, and I haven’t carved any pumpkins (yet). But I did help my godmother with her daughter’s wedding decorations…which you guessed it, included pumpkins. What we did for these pumpkins was a bit different. First we spray painted them so we had different colored pumpkins. Then we grabbed the puffy painted and started dotting away to make lovely swirls and designs. Here’s my favorite: IMG_1546

To make these super simple, unique and pretty pumpkins all your really need is puff paint and pumpkins! Then just squeeze the paint into dots in what ever shape, design or words you want. I took 4 of the pumpkins after the wedding and today the boyfriend is coming over and we’re going to carve two of them. 🙂

The lot of them.

The lot of them.

My tall skinny one.

My tall skinny one.

A nice round pumpkin.

A nice round pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

